The Tooth Fairy

After weeks of wiggling, the tooth finally came out.  It’s been about two years since the last tooth, so it took us a while to find the tooth pillow.  It was near the bottom of the stuffed animal bin.  Lily doesn’t play with them much any more, but she isn’t ready to part with them either.   As she  inserted the tooth into the pocket, she said, “I’m putting it here in the middle so that you don’t have to reach way in to get it out.”  She said, “you.”  Does she know?  Is the tooth out of the pillow? 

Mock Confusion:  “Why are you telling me this?”

Questioning:  “Is there something you want to tell me?”

Neither answer was definitive.  Maybe we are both playing our respective roles in this game for the sake of the other.  Which is kind of sweet.  In an hour, I will raid my husband’s wallet for a couple of dollars and sneak up the stairs. Holding my breath, I will slowly turn the knob. If she doesn’t stir, I will pad gently to the pillow and replace the tooth with the bills.  Before retreating, I will stop to listen to the deep slow breathing of my child.   

In the morning, she will tell us about the gift, and I won’t know whether she is humoring me or not. 

5 comments on “The Tooth Fairy

  1. Chris H. says:

    She either has it figured out or was testing you to see your response. When I said things like that, I always hoped my parents would respond as you did. “The game” provided a certain comfort, letting me know that they were okay with my hanging on to childhood for as long as I wanted and needed–and they would support me and treasure it along with me.

  2. tammyyoga says:

    Sweet slice and it will be a lovely memory for you both,

  3. She’s doing such a good job at keeping a tradition going. Great image of raiding the wallet and sneaking into her room–it was fun to picture you pulling that tooth out of the pillow. A friend of mine started to use gift cards or certificates for something when her kids were old enough to know but still lived the ritual–it was fun to switch it up a bit that way. Fun share!

  4. bbutler627 says:

    Great slice! I haven’t had to do this yet but will soon and I hope I don’t screw it up. I love the “Mock Confusion”. Cute!

Leave a Reply

