Spring?

Yesterday, inches of sloppy wet stow covered the roads.   Thought most had melted by noon today, there was still enough on the north side of the street to reflect bright light into my windows.  High in the sixties.  Tomorrow, it might make it to the seventies. In some places in the country, this would be  a sign of spring, but here, it’s just a tease.  There is snow forecast for Wednesday. March is our snowiest month, but if it’s warmer than usual, the crocus and even the daffodils might sneak out too early only to be strangled in the snow.  And even later, the tulips will suffer the same fate.  Stems weakened in their prime, not given the chance to slowly open, stretch and fall petal by petal..

When my husband told me he was going to the nursery today, I went along.  The last time I was there was Mother’s Day.  Free hot dogs, live music, and lines 30 minutes longs.  A riot of blossoms hanging from pots.  Today it was nearly empty and the flower pots are recently planted, waiting to grow.  Only the violets were blooming, those tough beauties. Tucked in the back of the store was a small orchid show, almost embarrassing for the sensual shapes and smells of the flowers.

My husband bought seeds.  He wont even try to start them inside for another month, but we are impatient.  Kale, canning cucumbers, and tomatoes. He wants to start some from seed in a bedroom window, and I admire his optimism, though I expect he will fail.  I picked out some bright pink morning glory that will either overtake my bed or never come up at all.

But there is hope in these packages.

Enjoy some Orchids:

Image

4 comments on “Spring?

  1. I have to say, Meg, that your voice comes shining, shining through in this post. I love the riots of blossoms hanging from pots, and I love your husband’s optimism. The details and descriptions really worked for me in this post, especially the kale, cucumbers, and tomatoes. I’m cheering for those seeds!

    • makablaze says:

      Thanks. When I wrote it I liked it, but I also knew it was not original, like a cliche. I was borrowing. I think it was the phrase “riot of daffodils'”. Not sure where it’s from. Wordsworth?

  2. Amanda says:

    Writing from Michigan, we too are enjoying the “warm” temps of upper 30s and low 40s, having been in the teens and subzero for far too long! I love the way you described your trip to the nursery and how you were able to enjoy your time there instead of being packed in!

    I love your final lines – “…I admire his optimism, though I expect he will fail. I picked out some bright pink morning glory that will either overtake my bed or never come up at all.” These make me think of the up and down of that transition between winter and spring. Warm one day, snow the next.

    And this – “But there is hope in these packages.” is such a great way to end!!

  3. Tracey says:

    Nice work. I loved the tinge of sarcasm and had a good little giggle at your humour. A nice light post to read. I enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

