Old School Writing:

 Writing something you don’t want to write for an audience who doesn’t want to read it.  Compulsory.  Formulaic.    What does the teacher want?  What is the minimum I have to do? What is the minimum word length?  Playing with margins and fonts to make your paper look longer.  Revision=editing.  Can I use first person?  How many quotes do I need?  I’m not a good writer. I hate writing.  Can you just tell me what is wrong so I can fix it?  How many paragraphs do we need?  Plagiarism.  Who cares what I have to say about it?  What are you looking for?  Don’t take risks.  Don’t read the comments.  Just look at the grade.

3 comments on “Old School Writing:

  1. @Kellylou says:

    Eee. Old school writing makes my heart hurt. This is all so true, and how I grew as a writer in the classroom. Out of the classroom, now that’s a different story. I think that’s why it’s so important to me that I create an environment that resembles what I wanted as a young writer, and not what i lived. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Lee Corey says:

    Not only is it true, but I see this more often than not in the high school classrooms in my area. It’s frustrating! Thanks for sharing.

  3. I have to say that I hear similar questions from teachers, as well, as they try to understand the CCSS and what really good writing looks like. How do we get people to teach from the heart, as well as write from it?

Leave a Reply

